FNUniv Students Honored at U of R’s Neekaneewak Leadership Awards

Home / News / FNUniv Students Honored at U of R’s Neekaneewak Leadership Awards

FNUniv Students Honored at U of R’s Neekaneewak Leadership Awards

April 12, 2024

On April 12, the University of Regina hosted the Neekaneewak Leadership Awards, an event dedicated to celebrating the accomplishments of outstanding Indigenous student leaders from the University of Regina and the First Nations University of Canada (FNUniv). The ceremony featured poignant speeches and accolades, acknowledging the significant contributions these leaders have made to their communities and cultural heritage.

Brittany Poitras, an FNUniv student, received the Community & Personal Leadership award for her exceptional service and commitment to her community. Brittany’s advocacy for positive change and her efforts to empower others have established her as a beacon of hope and an inspirational figure within her community.

Jesse Kitchemonia, another distinguished FNUniv student, was honored with the Cultural Leadership award. Jesse’s deep commitment to preserving and revitalizing Indigenous traditions, coupled with her enthusiasm for promoting cultural pride and sharing traditional values, has solidified her role as a key community influencer and a symbol of Indigenous resilience.

Lianda Tanner, FNUniv’s Interim Director of Student Success Services, addressed the ceremony, encouraging the award recipients and all Indigenous youth to pursue their leadership paths with courage and humility. She emphasized the importance of drawing strength from their ancestral heritage and the supportive network of their communities.

The event underscored a collective pledge to continue promoting Indigenous leadership excellence, safeguarding cultural heritage, and empowering the next generation of leaders. It concluded with a collective resolution to further these objectives, celebrating today’s achievements and setting the stage for the success of future leaders.

Read More:

RBC Neekaneewak Leadership Award Winners Celebrated | University of Regina (uregina.ca)

Follow Us on Instagram