Vision & Mission

Home / About Us / Vision & Mission


The First Nations University of Canada is a First Nations owned post-secondary institution that aspires to have a transformative impact by bridging our ceremonies, knowledge keepers, languages, and traditions with the delivery of high-quality education that will lead to the pride and success of all students, First Nations communities, and Canada. 


The mission of the First Nations University of Canada is to enhance the quality of life and to preserve, protect and interpret the history, language, culture and artistic heritage of First Nations. 

The First Nations University of Canada will acquire and expand its base of knowledge and understanding in the best interests of First Nations and for the benefit of society by providing opportunities for quality bi-lingual and bi-cultural education under the mandate and control of the First Nations of Saskatchewan. 

The First Nations University of Canada is a First Nations’ controlled university-college which provides educational opportunities to both First Nations and non-First Nations university students selected from a provincial, national and international base. 

Where We Came From: Our History 

In May 1976, the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations entered into a federation agreement with the University of Regina, to establish the Saskatchewan Indian Federated College (SIFC). The Agreement provided for an independently administered university-college, the mission of which is to serve the academic, cultural and spiritual needs of First Nations’ students. 

On June 21, 2003, the Saskatchewan Indian Federated College officially changed its name to the First Nations University of Canada (FNUniv). 

When SIFC first opened its doors in the fall of 1976, it had nine students and offered the following programs; Indian Studies, Indian Languages, Indian Teacher Education, Social Work, Fine Arts (Indian Art, Indian Art History) and Social Sciences. 

The university offers programs and services on three campuses: Regina, Saskatoon and Prince Albert (Northern Campus). 

Since 1983, the university has entered into over twenty-five agreements with Indigenous peoples’ institutions in Canada, South and Central America and Asia and signed agreements with academic institutions in Siberia (Russia), Inner Mongolia (China) and Tanzania. 

The university has been a member of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC), now called Universities Canada, since 1994.  

Follow Us on Instagram